50 Anime TV/OAV Series to Watch Before You Die

Guest Post by Joshua Shipp

1. Azumanga Daioh

2. Dragon Ball

3. Revolutionary Girl Utena

4. Giant Robo

5. Ah! My Goddess

6. Ranma ½

7. One Piece

8. Maison Ikkoku

9. Bleach

10. Naruto

11. Sailor Moon

12. Neon Genesis: Evangelion

13. Cowboy Bebop

14. Dragon Half

15. City Hunter

16. Crest of the Stars

17. Detective Conan

18. Don’t Leave Me Alone Daisy

19. Gakuen Alice

20. Hunter X Hunter

21. Kare Kano

22. Kodomo No Omocha

23. Marmalade Boy

24. Excel Saga

25. Strawberry Marshmallow

26. Sakura Wars

27. School Rumble

28. Serial Experiments Lain

29. Slayers

30. Tenchi Muyo!

31. Vampire Princess Miyu

32. Victorian Romance Emma

33. Yu Yu Hakusho

34. Witch Hunter Robin

35. Rurouni Kenshin

36. Fushigi Yugi

37. Cardcaptor Sakura

38. A Little Snow Fairy Sugar

39. Haunted Junction

40. Kamichu

41. FLCL

42. Trigun

43. Battle Athletes

44. Urusei Yatsura

45. Happy Lesson

46. Princess Tutu

47. Aria

48. Princess Nine

49. Blue Seed

50. Sakura Diaries

Joshua Shipp is a young (and handsome) zoologist who enjoys exploring the cultures of the world through movies, TV shows, games, music, and books.  When he’s not sitting around doing nothing, he’s sitting around doing nothing while videotaping ground squirrels getting surprised looks on their faces.  Or the squirrel equivalent of that, anyway.

5 thoughts on “50 Anime TV/OAV Series to Watch Before You Die

  1. bigwords88

    Death Note, Ghost In The Shell: Stand Alone Complex and the new Fist Of The North Star could all easily fit onto such a list. I would probably have added Guyver: Bio Boosted Armor, but as much as I love it I know the animation has dated badly in places. You should try to catch a few episodes of Lupin and the original Astro Boy series as well, if you haven’t already.

  2. Joshua

    bigwords, Thanks for the response. I have some catching up to do with newer shows (I’ve been waiting for cheaper box sets to come out), but I’ll definitely consider including Death note and Ghost in the Shell: SAC in my next list after I check them out. I’ve never seen much Fist of the North Star; there’s never really been a good release of the original series, has there? Oh, and I’m definitely not turned off by dated animation (which is why I have City Hunter, Detective Conan, Urusei Yatsura, and Haunted Junction on my list). I’d love to see the original Lupin series (and Astro Boy), but I generally watch anime on DVD, and they’re not readily available. I really loved Castle of Cagliostro, so I’m sure I’d like the Lupin TV series too.

  3. van

    Death note should so be in their and in my personal opinion Neon Genesis Evangelion should be #1

    and i cant find any refrence to #47 Aria

    over all good 😀

  4. I just wanted to comment your blog site and say that I genuinely enjoyed reading your website post here. It was really informative and I also digg the way you write! Continue the good work and I’ll be back to read far more soon mate

Leave a Reply

