I Want to Take You With Me – Guest Post by Jennifer Hudock

In the last thirty-six years I’ve been a lot of people and I’ve done amazing things. I raced through the prairie with Laura Ingalls and found myself poisoned and cocooned by Shelob only to be hung right beside Frodo Baggins in her lair. I’ve slain and trained dragons and watched villages burn while men from the North rounded the screaming women and children into their longboats with plans to sell them into slavery. I’ve bought other people’s memories from The Goblin Market and danced in faerie rings under a full moon with forest gods and pixie witches. I’ve been bitten by vampires, mauled by werewolves, abducted by aliens and I lived to tell the tale.

Imagination is an amazing and powerful tool that can get you out of any situation, and while many psychologists refer to this as escapism, for me it is a way of life. I am purveyor of tall tales and fantasies, a spinner of yarns, a mighty creator and destroyer of worlds. I am a writer and I make the impossible possible.

When I was in college one of my advisors thought I was crazy. It was great that I wanted to major in English and Creative Writing, sure, but how would I survive? He promised me that after graduation I would wind up working in Wendy’s making a dollar above minimum wage if I didn’t take action and plan for my future. I know he wasn’t being harsh, or maybe he was just a little. He wanted me to do something I was not mentally cut out to do, “Ignore your dreams and become something you’re not.”

Even if I wanted to put that part of myself aside and live a so-called normal life, I couldn’t do it. The dramatic flair that outlines every scenario inside my brain insists that I would die if I put down my pen and stepped away from the keyboard. I know that seems absurd, but I’m not willing to risk it. Besides, I’ve got a date with a wookiee and he’s promised to take me out in the Millennium Falcon, and that’s an opportunity of a lifetime I’m not about to pass up.

I am an escapist, a dreamer, a reader, a writer. I take myself on journeys and explore distant lands, and I want to take you with me.

Jennifer Hudock is an author, podcaster and freelance editor from Pennsylvania. Her first full-length, dark fantasy novel, The Goblin Market, is currently available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords for just $.99. For more information about Jennifer Hudock, including updates on upcoming fiction, visit her official website: The Inner Bean.

4 thoughts on “I Want to Take You With Me – Guest Post by Jennifer Hudock

  1. laradunning

    What a great post. Full of life and fun! So many things can happen when you read, become part of the story. Nicely put!

Leave a Reply

