20 fun horror movies to see before you die

Here’s my list of 20 fun horror films that I love. Not all of these movies are scary, but they’re filled with monsters and horror tropes.

1. Dead Alive

2. Trick ‘r Treat

3. Evil Dead 2

4. House 2

5. The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra

6. Bio Zombie

7. Cannibal! The Musical

8. The Happiness of the Katakuris

9. Tucker & Dale vs Evil

10. Shaun of the Dead

11. Fido

12. Beetlejuice

13. The Cabin in the Woods

14. Scream

15. Gremlins

16. ParaNorman

17. Drag Me to Hell

18. The Funhouse

19. Basket Case

20. Delicatessen

What are your favorite fun horror films?

19 thoughts on “20 fun horror movies to see before you die

  1. Brian

    Sad that I consider myself a horror movie buff and I have only seen 9 of these.

    Trick r’ Treat is a classic

    I would also add

    Return of the Living Dead
    Scanners
    Phantasm
    Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2 (just for Dennis Hopper hamming it up)
    The Stuff
    Wizard of Gore
    An American Werewolf in London
    Bad Taste
    They Live
    Battlefield Baseball
    Inbred
    Army of Darkness

  2. DETENTION! I tell people it’s a cross between HEATHERS and SCOTT PILGRIM, with a serial killer. If they don’t immediately want to see it, I never speak to them again.
    WILD ZERO! For this one I tell people to imagine ROCK AND ROLL HIGH SCHOOL, except the Ramones are Japanese and there’s no high school and there’s zombies.
    FEAST! There is no purer expression of a 10-year-old boy’s wish to make a horror movie starring his dad than this movie. There’s also Henry Rollins in it.
    HORROR EXPRESS! If knowing that this movie is about a prehistoric creature that drains people’s brains dry through their eyes and stars Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee, and Telly Savalas as a Cossack doesn’t make your toes tingle, they probably fell off and you haven’t noticed yet.
    RETURN TO HORROR HIGH! Many will hate this movie-within-a-movie-within-a-flashback-within-a-dream-sequence-filled affair, but fudge ’em. If the sight of Marcia Brady lustily eating a sandwich while standing in a field littered with body bags and body parts doesn’t justify a movie’s existence all by itself, then I just don’t know what does.
    THE SEVENTH CURSE! A brave adventurer does some stuff and then gets cursed and all kinds of madcap shenanigans ensue. Magic! Monsters! Punching! Old Ancestor! Exploding blood things! Chow Yun-Fat in his Hong Kong glory days! I appear to be getting more verbose with every one, so I’d better stop while I can.

  3. kennamckinnon

    Thanks, Jeremy, my son had this sense of humor, too. I downloaded The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra and Tucker & Dale vs Evil. I’ve seen Beetlejuice, Gremlins, don’t want to see Scream, ParaNorman sounds like Psycho, the first horror movie I watched as a teen. Attack of the Killer Tomatoes and Night of the Living Dead are good, too. I’m forwarding this list to a friend who watches the same movies I do, we then phone each other and comment on the movies.

    Kenna McKinn

  4. Clawd

    I agree, Army of Darkness should be on this list… I took my eldest (11) to see ParaNorman for some mother/daughter time, she loved it.

  5. Great list. I absolutely adore Delicatessen!

    I agree with adding Army of Darkness and An American Werewolf in London. Those two are both great fun. I’d also add Monster Squad and Return of the Living Dead.

Leave a Reply

