5 Questions for Gina Ranalli


Gina Ranalli

Jeremy C. Shipp: If you could slap any character from one of your books, who would you choose?

Gina Ranalli: There’s a supporting character in Unearthed named John. He’s a whiny little bitch who deserves a good slap. In retrospect, he reminds me of Bill Paxton’s character in Aliens. Very annoying and I should have had all the other characters stand in a line to slap him in turn.

JCS: What can you tell us about your newest projects?

GR: Well, there’s the book I just mentioned, Unearthed, which is basically a creature horror tale. I think it’s a fun little story that’s vaguely Lovecraftian. After that will come Dark Surge. Another straight horror story, but with a lot of surreal elements. And then, I believe, will come a novel tentatively titled Off, which is just kind of an insane, dark screwball comedy. There’s a lot on my plate right now and I’m excited about all of them.

JCS: If your life was a video game, what would you collect to obtain points?

GR: I’d love to say guitars because they’re my favorite objects in the world, but realistically I guess I’ll say skulls. All kinds of them. Human, alien, animal, machine. It would probably be a pretty grim–but supremely awesome–video game.

JCS: Who’s your favorite monster?

GR: Wow. I don’t know. I really love all monsters. From Disney movies to the Bible and everything in between. But, really, is there a greater monster than the Devil himself? Demons scare the crap out of me. Demons and angry bears. Wouldn’t want to meet either one.

JCS: What would you do in a magic forest?

GR: I’d build a magic cottage on top of a huge, polka-dotted toadstool and ride glow in the dark dragonflies. Isn’t that what everyone would do?

Gina Ranalli is the author of many books, including Praise the Dead, House of Fallen Trees and Dark Surge. She lives in Washington state and you can visit her on the web at www.ginaranalli.com.

Jeremy C. Shipp is the Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Cursed, Vacation, and Sheep and Wolves. His online home is jeremycshipp.com, and his twitter handle is @JeremyCShipp.

2 thoughts on “5 Questions for Gina Ranalli

Leave a comment